Anantha P. Chandrakasan is Dean of the School of Engineering and the Vannevar Bush Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT. He also co-chairs the new MIT–IBM Watson Artificial Intelligence Lab, along with Dario Gil, IBM Research Vice President of AI and IBM Q.

Prof. Chandrakasan has been with MIT since 1994. From July 2011 through June 2017, he served as head of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS). During his tenure as head of MIT’s largest academic department, he spearheaded a number of initiatives that opened opportunities for students, postdocs, and faculty to conduct research, explore entrepreneurial projects, and engage with EECS. Previously, from 2006 to 2011, he served as Director of the MIT Microsystems Technology Laboratories (MTL).

At MIT, he also leads the MIT Energy-Efficient Circuits and Systems Group, whose research projects have addressed security hardware, energy harvesting, and wireless charging for the internet of things; energy-efficient circuits and systems for multimedia processing; and platforms for ultra-low-power biomedical electronics.

Prof. Chandrakasan received bachelor’s, master’s, and PhD degrees in electrical engineering and computer science from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1989, 1990, and 1994 respectively. He has received many awards, including the 2009 Semiconductor Industry Association (SIA) University Researcher Award, the 2013 IEEE Donald O. Pederson Award in Solid-State Circuits, an honorary doctorate from KU Leuven in 2016, and the UC Berkeley EE Distinguished Alumni Award in 2017. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 2015.

He is a co-author of Low Power Digital CMOS Design (Kluwer Academic Publishers, 1995), Digital Integrated Circuits (Pearson Prentice-Hall, 2003, 2nd edition), and Sub-threshold Design for Ultra-Low Power Systems (Springer, 2006).

Prof. Chandrakasan is an IEEE Fellow. He was recognized as the author with the highest number of publications in the 60-year history of the IEEE International Solid-State Circuits Conference (ISSCC), the foremost global forum for presentation of advances in solid-state circuits and systems-on-a-chip. He has served in various roles for the ISSCC, including Program Chair, Signal Processing Subcommittee Chair, and Technology Directions Subcommittee Chair. He has been the ISSCC Conference Chair since 2010. He was a member of the organizing committee for the Future of Signal Processing Symposium.